Fever Panic. Step Away From The Baby Paracetamol

Colorful Baby Toy Set

Writing my post on the use of baby paracetamol was punctuated by my own little guy suffering for three days with spiking temperatures of 103C. At 9 months old, I finally gave in, and cracked open the bottle of sticky, sweet, pink, paracetamol suspension…Calpol.

With each of the six doses over three tense days, I troubled over the good and the bad of the stuff. Needless to say, when the time comes, you have to make your baby more comfortable, and with the lack of any other real alternative, that means a spoonful of (more often than not) bright pink medicine.

Every baby goes through teething pains, growth spurts, coughs and colds. Many times I have sat up nursing my little guy through the night as his teeth have been causing him trouble! Never has it crossed my mind to reach for the baby paracetamol. We cuddle up, chew, nurse and distract…sometimes all night long.

I have to bite my tongue when I hear people using Calpol for grizzly, restless babies, but with no sign of a high temperature…The first line of help for many a problem, including teething is baby paracetamol, sometimes baby ibuprofen, sometimes even both. In my opinion it should come out of the medicine box a lot more slowly…

This time it was different though, not a teething temperature but his first very high temperature, and a visibly distressed baby, I had to let medicine step in and help.

Nothing incites panic more than a fever in a baby? (Well not until you drop your iPhone down the toilet like I have just done…second place panic!) However I was strangely calm, much of my previous research into fevers had actually given me a new mindset about fevers, for which I am grateful.

First Aid Sign/Label

First Aid Sign/Label (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why do we panic so excessively at what is the body’s most natural defense to infection?

Why do we try to suppress such an important function of the body, so quickly, with such colouful, sugary, pharmacological remedies?

Why do we rely so heavily on these cocktails of E-numbers of which some are known hormone disruptors and carcinogens and some of which are banned in other countries. Then there is the cumulative effects of paracetamol or ibuprofen on such tiny livers and digestive systems, and the relative newness of baby ibuprofen to the market.

Fingers crossed, my little guy is over the worst of whatever it was that upset his little body. It will be a while before I totally relax, but I can get back to finishing my look at fevers and what to do and seriously look at any alternatives that might exist…I will publish it soon!

One thought on “Fever Panic. Step Away From The Baby Paracetamol

  1. Valerie

    Great post! I’m sorry your little one hasn’t been feeling well. 😦 It’s such a hard thing when it comes to using medication for fevers, isn’t it? We want to bring it down for our own peace of mind but the truth is that a rise in temp is like you said, the body’s way of helping! I asked parents to share what they do in times of fever and the comments turned out to be very insightful: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/what-do-you-think-fevers-meds/ I hope your guy is feeling better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

