Bubble And Squeak. BLW With A Crunch

bubblesqueak1

This is so simple it probably doesn’t deserve a post on a blog anywhere!  Sometimes though, the simplest ideas are the tastiest.

When did you last have good old bubble and squeak?  It’s not just for Christmas!

Not only can you pack it full of nutritious veg, but you can add a little grating of tasty cheese, or a sprinkling of herbs.  Kids will love the different textures, the creamy insides and the best bit…the crunchy jacket it all comes wrapped in.

bubblesqueak2

I won’t bore you with a recipe, but I love to make this with the leftovers from a roast dinner.    Chop up a few spoonfuls of mixed veg, carrots, broccoli, sweetcorn…whatever is going…then add a few potatoes and mash it all together until it starts to combine and hold together.  I added a little grating of cheese, I get nervous to give the little guy too much cheese so this is a great way to make a little go a long way.

Then simply press  and shape tightly into kiddie size patties and fry gently in a little olive oil until crispy on the outside.

Easy!!

And a little addictive!!

I made six, but only three escaped my mouth and made it to the little guy patiently waiting for his lunch!!

Have a look at some of my other recipe ideas great for baby led weaning:

Spinach and lentil dahl

baby jellies

creamy vegetables with salmon

Wholemeal baby biscotti

11 thoughts on “Bubble And Squeak. BLW With A Crunch

  1. Valerie

    These look amazing!! I’ve never seen or had them – are the potatoes cooked, and mashed? Or…? I definitely want to try them! 🙂

    Reply
    1. wildandwisdom Post author

      Maybe it’s a very English affair!! You could boil and mash some if you are making them from scratch but usually it would be made with the left over oven roast potatoes from a roast dinner. The best bit about bubble and squeak is you can use anything you have though. Let me know if you make some.

      Reply
      1. Valerie

        Ok, perfect!! I will definitely let you know – I will make these soon! YUM! 😀

  2. Pingback: Ten Thoughts Tuesday ~ May 21 | Atlantamomofthree

  3. Karla

    I’m going to try these with Rory. I may have to call them “biscuit” or “rice cake” to get him to put them in his mouth though. They look yummy.

    Reply
    1. wildandwisdom Post author

      That’s to funny, you must pass bubble and squeak down to your kids now, but you can give it a real name!! It never occurred to me just how English it is, I wonder where she got her recipe from.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Baby Freindly Blancmange…Sugar Free Pudding Time | Wild And Wisdom

  5. Pingback: Ten Thoughts Tuesday ~ May 21 (The Bubble and Squeak Edition) | Atlantamomofthree

Leave a Reply

